Fire pots

I’ve actually been wanting to try fire pots for a while now since it advertises itself as a ‘healthy hot pot tapas bar’ and I’m always sold on things like that. We were surprised when we walked in because they had a fully stalked bar and the interior had a classy feel to it. The atmosphere was really nice, I could see how a place like it would be popular. I also noticed that they have a 30% off tapas happy hour from 3pm – 5pm everyday as well as daily drink specials. Not to mention that they had sake bombs too! No drinks for us tonight but perhaps next time we’ll try them next time.

IMG-20131109-03051

For dinner we decided to get two tapas plates and a snack size hot pot to satisfy our hungry selves. I liked that when you walked in they already had all the dishes laid out right in front of you ready to go. Since this was our first time here, we had a bunch of questions, and the waitresses both happily answered all our questions (even the obvious ones) to our hearts content, so a definite plus on service.

IMG-20131109-03052

I chose to get the masago udon ($9) which came in rich buttery ponzu sauce. I was surprised that the masago was purple instead of the regular orange colour it has in mentaiko udon. Grayson didn’t have any of it, because he knew I wouldn’t have much of everything else we would be ordering. I didn’t mind though because I enjoyed the dish quite a bit, I liked the tangy and acidity of the ponzu, which was then balanced out by creaminess. I thought $9 was a little on the pricy side for a tapas dish, but I think it was worth it because I was already full when by the end of it.

1463651_10153447021890247_1259116975_n

For our next tapas, we chose the Pad thai ($11) which had prawns, chicken, tofu, mushrooms, and vegetables in a housemade sweet chili peanut sauce. I’m not a fan of peanuts so I was a little weary of it at first, but Grayson has wanted pad thai for a while now, so we decided to go for it. To my surprise, the peanut taste wasn’t all that prominent in the dish even though it was the sauce. I wasn’t a huge fan of this dish because the noodles were a little to ‘mushy soft’ in texture for my taste. On the other hand, Grayson loved the dish, and having the egg there made him love the dish even more so than he already had. He liked everything about it, except he didn’t try any of the prawns because he game them all to me (how sweet of him right?). The prawns were perfectly cooked and still had a bite to them. They weren’t dry or chewy at all, so yay!

1461563_10153447021770247_884867721_n

Grayson wanted to try the signature coconut curry chicken fire hot pot in snack size ($10) chicken, potato, and cloud ear mushroom, so that’s what we got. We got to choose a sauce and starch to go with it so we picked hoisin and rice. It came with broccoli, carrot, spinach, and bok choy as well. We didn’t expect the potatoes to be served fried in a form similar to potato chips though, but those were a nice touch to it. The broth was a little spicier than Grayson anticipated, but he handled it just fine. I thought that the broth was a little too heavy on the curry because I couldn’t taste any of the coconut which was a little disappointing. As for portioning, it would of been enough for a smaller eater like me for dinner, but if you’re hungry you’ll have to go for the regular size ($15) which comes with double the amount of meat and veggies.

1395119_10153447021950247_989203759_n

Fire Pots 東來火鍋 on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. […] vague but if you want a more detailed post about my visit read my first post about fire pots here:  fire-pots first visit. Grayson and I were suprirsed to see that the waitress remembered us from our first […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

