Chinese almond cookies

I know we’re no where near Lunar new year but lil’ bun loves these almond cookies so I just HAD to make some for her. Traditionally these cookies are made with animal fat (lard) but you and I both know that lard is no good for the soul so this is a healthier version of the treat. Instead of using lard, these are made with coconut oil to give them a rich buttery flavor. Although I was hesitant at first, I was surprised to see how well these turned out! Don’t believe me? Read on to find out!

IMG-20140319-04531

Ingredients (makes 9):

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg beaten (separated into 2 halves)
1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract
1/4 cup sliced almonds

Bake!

1. In a large bowl, cream the coconut oil, vegetable and sugar together. Then beat in 1/2 an egg and the almond extract. Mix in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir in the sliced almonds. Roll the dough into a log and put it in the fridge for 1 hour to firm up.

IMG-20140319-04522

2. Cut the cookie dough log into 9 equal cookies and place them on a lined cookie sheet. Brush each cookie with the remaining 1/2 an egg for egg wash. Top with a few more slices of almonds for garnish if you like.

IMG-20140319-04523

3. Bake at 325F for 15 – 18 minutes, until golden brown.

IMG-20140319-04533

These cookies were nice and crunchy on the outside but remained chewy on the inside because of the sugar. They also had the most amazing almond flavor because we used both almond extract and sliced almonds. Old bean doesn’t comment on my cookies very often so I was genuinely surprised when he asked me how I got them to turn out so aromatic. He wasn’t the only one to ask me about the recipe though…because mother deer asked me too! Not to mention how lil’ bun ate not one, not two but THREE whole cookies!

Interact with me