Skinny gluten free banana bread (sugar free, vegan, clean eats)

It’s fiesta friday again and this time I come bearing another guilt free gluten free treat! I’ve mentioned it before a while ago but I recently found out that I have a sensitivity to gluten and of course, I’m not going to let that stop me from having pastries of sorts! Lately, I have been trying to figure out how I can have a gluten free version of my favorite treats.

PicsArt_1402775222649Now as you may know, my all time favorite pastry of all time is banana bread so of course I had to start with that one! Instead of using whole wheat/all purpose flour, I decided to use oats and since I’m trying to go sugar free, I decided to let my ripe bananas do their job and do the sweetening for me (: If your bananas aren’t ripe enough for banana bread, try baking them in the oven at 350F for 15 – 20 minutes and the heat will ripen them right up for you!

IMG_20140614_110333

Simple. Clean. Ingredients

1/4 cup PB2 + 2 tablespoons water (or 1/4 cup peanut butter)
2 bananas
1 tablespoon ground flaxseeds + 3 tablespoons water (or 1 egg)
3/4 cup oats
2 tablespoon ground flaxseeds
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon

PhotoGrid_1402770285522
 Method

1. Put all the ingredients into a blender or food processor

2. Blend everything until smooth

3. Pour everything into a loaf pan or muffin tins and garnish with banana slices if you like

4. Bake at 375F for 20 – 25 minutes until golden.

5. Munch!

IMG_20140614_110333

12 comments

  1. I love banana bread! This looks so easy and healthy too! I want a slice ….or two. 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s okay I had three (:

      Like

  2. This looks really good – a totally healthy banana bread. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Welcome to Fiesta Friday, Cynthia!! What a great treat to bring to our table today!! There are so many people who have sensitivity to gluten today, and it makes me wonder why we have such an explosion of people with that…or has it been around all along, and we’re just now figuring it out? Either way..I’m glad to know that you can still enjoy wonderful delicious foods without gluten…like this banana bread. It’s fabulous! Thank you so much for sharing.. ❤

    Like

    1. I think a lot of the time we just get confused and aren’t in tuned with our bodies enough to realize when something is wrong because we’re just used to feeling the way we feel!

      Like

  4. Banaba bread….one of my favorites! Yum!

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing this delightful recipe! Perfectly legal for me too! Yum 🙂

    Like

  6. I thought all banana bread was guilt-free 🙂

    Like

  7. One of my kids needs sugar n dairy free food…another needs egg n soy free…I am trying to reduce gluten intake too..so this recipe works just nice for our family. Thanks!!!

    Like

  8. this is my favorite banana bread recipe 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so glad it worked out for you!

      Like

Interact with me