Soft peaks

There’s been so much hype about soft peaks lately and what kind of food blogger would I be if I didn’t join in on it? What’s soft peaks? Soft peaks is the newest up and coming homemade ice cream shop in Gastown!

soft peaks

Excerpt from media release: “Brothers Dan & Ken Kim have a passion for ice cream, and both left their careers in the business world to follow their dream of opening Soft Peaks. Soft Peaks ice cream is made from scratch every day using fresh Avalon Organic milk. It’s lightly sweetened, then churned to a rich soft serve consistency. With a base of milk, the fat content of their ice cream is less than 6%, as opposed to more typically cream-heavy recipes that average 15%. The result is an all-natural dessert that’s at once thick, creamy, and refreshing.”

soft peaks

They offer unique toppings on their soft serve that serve to highlight the creaminess of the organic milk. Just look at all of them up on the wall!

soft peaks

Sometimes the simplest of menus is the best! I just adore the honey comb design and they are even going to offer drink versions of them in the summer! Talk about delish!

soft peaks

Their soft serves are offered in two different sizes, the small and the regular. The small is the same size as a plastic dixie cup and the regular is a little bigger than that. They also offer cones for 50 cents. The only downside is that they don’t have lids for their ice-cream so it’s not very public transit friendly.

soft peaks

Their signature item is their honeycomb peak that’s topped with premium Fraser Valley honeycomb. I love how they display the honeycomb in their display case. They looked so delicate.

soft peaks

Now then, moving onto the interior…it took us a whole 20 minutes to get inside so I couldn’t leave this part out! Although the storefront looks small from the outside, the interior is actually quite spacious. They have two floors and quite a bit of seating on both.

soft peaks

soft peaks

soft peaks

Upon placing our order, lil’ bun and I made our way over to the bar area where we got to watch them make and top our soft serves. Have you ever had two people make your one cup of ice cream before? I think not! That’s how much attention went into every cup.

soft peaks

I decided to get the sunrise in California which was topped with yuzu marmalade. I was debating between this one and the honey comb but we go up to Fraser Valley pick up honey there often so I decided to go with something I’ve never had before instead.

soft peaks

The icecream was super creamy and honestly I’ve never had anything like it before. I don’t really know how to describe it but the soft serve tasted really milky? I think it was because of the higher fat content in the milk coupled with the fact that it was organic. The yuzu reminded me of kumquat in flavor and the tartness of it complimented the icecream wonderfully. It was the perfect bite of balance of sweet and sour notes.

soft peaks

Lil’ bun has been on a matcha kick lately and decided to get the green forest. It was topped with adzuki red bean paste, matcha powder and sweetened condensed milk. She said that the matcha helped balance out the sweetness of the red bean. Like me, she really liked how you could actually taste the milk in the iceream and not just sugar.

soft peaks

I know there’s so much praise here because it was just that yummy! Lil’ bun was head over heels in love with the ice cream but if she had to really give a negative it would be how disappointed she was to find that the ice cream was actually hollow on the inside! The swirl was just lacing the edge of the cup and the center was empty! But that was only because she wished she had more of it!

soft peaks

disclaimer: Both cups of icecream were provided by soft peaks and all opinions are honest and my own.
Soft Peaks Ice Cream on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. damnnn I still need to go!!! T^T

    Like

Interact with me