Superfood breakfast cookies (vegan friendly)

Hello lovelies, long time no talk! I feel like I haven’t baked in forever because of all the final exams I’ve been writing lately…
On the bright side, I’m done writing them all now and that means that it’s finally over! Well, at least for the time being because even though I finished my degree, I’ll be returning to school again in the Fall.
superfood cookies
So that means that it’s almost time for me to graduate and being that the ceremony is going to be in about a month, it’s time to get myself into high gear and be in tip top shape for the event!
Not that I don’t already live a healthy lifestyle, eat clean, exercise regularly or anything of that sort, but after a whole month of jeopardizing my sleep to deadlines and exams, I figured that my body needs a well deserved reboot.
superfood cookies
And that means, first and foremost, tucking in early and getting my 8 – 10 hours a night. I think we always feel like we have something to do or someone to see and because of all that, we end up neglecting the one thing we need most, sleep.
Afterall, without it, we wouldn’t be able to function!
superfood cookies
But of course, sleep isn’t all we need for optimal health because what we eat contributes a great deal as well! As a matter of fact, I read somewhere once that lack of sleep and fatigue can cause you to overeat because your body tries to re-energize itself by consuming more calories for energy!

Which is why it’s important to make sure that you’re fueling yourself nutritiously! So, here’s my recipe for the most deliciously moist and chewy superfood cookies you’ll ever munch on. They’re packed full of dried fruit, seeds and sliced almonds to help increase brain health and give you a good dose of energy to help you get through that mid-day slump ๐Ÿ™‚

superfood cookies

Keep eating, munching, and loving darlings,

-Cynthia

Follow and interact with me on Instagram, Bloglovin’, Yummly, Twitter and Pintrest!

 

Ingredients (makes 12)
3 tablespoons oil
1 egg (or 3 tablespoons water)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup honey (or agave)

1 cup oats
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
pinch ofย  salt

1/4 cup dried apricots, diced
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup slivered almonds
2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
2 tablespoons chia seeds
2 tablespoons hemp hearts
2 tablespoons sesame seeds

ย Method
  1. Whisk the oil, egg, vanilla and honey together in a large bowl.
  2. Add in the oats, whole wheat flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Stir until a dough forms.
  3. Mix in the apricots, cranberries, sunflower seeds, almonds, flax seeds, chia seeds, hemp hearts and sesame seeds. Make sure that they are all evenly dispersed throughout the dough. Let dough firm up in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  4. Form 12 golf ball sized cookies and place them onto a lined cookie sheet. Slightly flatten them with the palm of your hand.
  5. Bake cookies at 350F for 8 – 10 minutes until the bottoms are golden brown. Let cool before munching.superfood cookies
    This post was created for Fiesta Friday, a weekly foodie link-up party. Please feel free to come join the fun, I promise you won’t regret it!

 

10 comments

  1. Wow, what a great recipe! Super healthy and delicious! Don’t forget the cacao!

    Like

    1. Good call! Cacao nibs would go so good in it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These look tasty! Well done for graduating ๐Ÿ™‚ Make sure you have some rest and relaxation now ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Of course, there will be lots of baking and relaxing ahead for me ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This looks super yummy!:D

    Like

    1. What kind of cookies aren’t? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. I hope we could take a break and bake all day all week. ๐Ÿ˜€ Sounds very tiring, huh? ๐Ÿ˜€ These cookies look so good – I could eat more than I can handle. ๐Ÿ˜› Thanks for bringing these here at FF table ann enjoy your weekend. xx

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words Jhuls! I wish we could bake all day every day too except where will we put all the goodies we make? ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  5. These are great, they would be perfect for breakfasts on the go! Happy FF#65 ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. camiwine · · Reply

    They look beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ am excited to try these out!! Thanks for sharing, Cam

    Like

Interact with me