The buffet at Riverrock

More often than not my family get togethers end up being at the buffet at River Rock because that way everyone gets to eat what they like eating. It’s also convenient for us to go there because they have a banquet room that can be booked and use for gatherings as well. Sometimes my aunt likes to order extra food just for our family to have in the banquet room so we get to have a few things that are just for us! The follow post is going to be a collection of photos from the most recent visits I’ve made to River Rock since I don’t take enough photos on one trip.

CIMG5511

This is a crab cake my aunt ordered just for our party. It was nice and crispy crunchy and I liked that they made a point to put a claw on the top to show that it’s real crab.

IMG-20121223-01812

Another thing we had for just us was a plethora of souvlaki meats (chicken, lamb, beef) with a side of creamy taziki sauce. I’ve had better souvlaki meats at Greek taverns but for a restaurant that isn’t specialized in Greek cuisine, it wasn’t bad.

IMG-20121223-01814

I’m not a red meat eater so I was unable to enjoy the various roast beef and prime rib options they offered but from what I hear from brother deer and old bean, their meat is a little hit and miss. They said that sometimes it’d come out nice and tender and other times it’d be dry so they sort of investigate the cook on it before they choose to pick up a slice or five. Since I don’t have the red meat, I end up filling up on the delicious seafood and fresh vegetables.

IMG-20131223-03318

Now of course I can’t forget about the dessert bar! I mean that’s the best part about buffets isn’t it?

IMG-20131223-03322

Lil’ bun and I normally share a giant dessert plate so it makes us feel less guilty about going up for more than one round of dessert. Our favorite thing to do with the mini cupcakes is to squish them together to make a sandwich out of them! Yay frosting in every bite! The biscuits in the photo are the toffee biscuits from the chocolate fountain station they have. We are the people who just eat the cookies plain because they are good enough as is!

IMG-20131223-03319

River rock never fails to have an abundant amount of cake options available either. Below is a photo of their mango mousse cake and strawberry cheese cake along with some fruit from the chocolate fountain station.

167329_10150092404732778_510757777_5980589_1522533_n

And without fail, they ALWAYS have a huge plate of cream puffs ready for consumption as well.

166432_10150092404782778_510757777_5980591_459745_n

Since lil’ bun and I are suckers for presentation, we had to get this white chocolate raspberry mousse cup. Unfortunately, it didn’t taste as good as it looked.

IMG-20110507-00294

Last but not least, I absolutely have to mention that they have a soft serve ice cream machine with  chocolate and vanilla flavors available. During the holiday season they change the flavor to gingerbread and pumpkin spice which I find super awesome! They have ice cream cone and sundae cups for you to contain your ice cream, but lil’ bun and I like to be creative so we put it in a drinking glass. And if you’re going to do that, you have to go big so we layer in toffee bits between the ice cream layers and top with sprinkles and a chocolate garnish. (:

IMG-20131223-03321

I think the food at river rock in general is pretty good but I DO think that their quality has declined through the years. I’m not sure if it’s just me and I’ve just been here too many times for family dinners but I think the amount of food they offer has decreased. The last time I visited there were a few items where they had two serving trays for instead of just one. In addition to that, it felt as though they had just prepared the same food items in several different ways. For example they had a both a Chinese fried rice and a seafood fried rice, which I didn’t find very impressive because it really limited the hot food options. Do I think that the buffet is worth it? In a way I do…just because there are quite a few seafood and meat options for you to indulge in but if you’re a vegetarian I suggest you go elsewhere.

The Buffet @ River Rock on Urbanspoon

Interact with me