Basho, Platform 7 and Anna’s cake house

Sigh, oh Basho…how I adore munching your food. I’ve been here twice in the past for girly dates and after each visit I gush and rave about it to Grayson. He’s been wanting to come here with me for a while now but since I usually see him in the evening which is around the time where Basho closes, we’ve never gotten around to it. However, we ended up meeting for lunch this weekend so we finally got around to going together! See…I always end up keeping my promises about eating at places he wants to go to with him so how come he always goes to places I want to go eat at without me…okay a bit of a personal tangent there but here’s what we got!

PhotoGrid_1404609832421

Grayson got the tuna tataki lunch set ($12.50) and I got the Basho veggie ($7.50) like always. I was super excited to get it but was disappointed to find that they decreased their portion sizes by at least 1/3 ): At least that’s how it looked to me when I compared a photo from my last visit to the one I got this time we went but nevertheless I think I will always like coming back here but you know, it’s nice when portions are happy/consistent too. Grayson was really content with his tuna tataki though and said it was super yum. So here’s a delish close up for you (:

IMG_20140705_123402

Basho Cafe on Urbanspoon

After Chief and I’s visit to Lion’s den last week, we decided to head on over to Platform 7 because he’s driven by it many times before and thought it was cool but had never gone in before. Platform 7 is a coffee shop that’s train station inspired in it’s decor. They have lots of “fancier” ways of brewing coffee so if you’re a coffee enthusiast, this is a place to be! I’m not much of a coffee drinker so I didn’t end up getting anything but Chief got an iced coffee brewed using a cone filter. He said that although he liked how they made it, the coffee tasted a little sour/acidic on it’s own without milk. Which is normal so that’s not much of a real complaint.

PhotoGrid_1404349193534

Platform 7 on Urbanspoon

Mother deer got a cake from Anna’s cake house for lil’ bun’s birthday. We never get our birthday cakes here but they’re pastries are quite good so we figured that we would give it a try. And boy…it was not a very good call to make because we were definitely not impressed with this one. The cake options were all limited and plain looking but we didn’t have time to go anywhere else so we picked the best option which was this chestnut one. They didn’t ask or offer a chocolate plaque/sign that said Happy Birthday on it like they usually do when mother deer bought it either and unfortunately she forgot to ask for one. I ended up having to pipe it on there with chocolate at home and I ended up adding a lot more fruit to it on my own too because it looked so bland. We thought that it was just the exterior that was bad but the inside was just as horrible because instead of having two layers of sponge cake sandwiching a layer of chestnut, they made there’s with just one layer of each making it not a very enjoyable experience when we ate it because both of the layers were so thick. It was as if they were too lazy to cut the sponge into two and sandwich it or something! Seeing that Anna’s cake house is supposed to be one of the “upper scale” Chinese bakeries, we were appalled by this and we really could of gotten a waaaay better tasting and looking cake at Pine House or Maxims.

PhotoGrid_1404533718791

Anna's Cake House 安娜餅屋 on Urbanspoon

 

2 comments

  1. I loved the tuna tataki from basho too! Sad to hear the sizing has decreased though. Is the same true for the baked goods? I really enjoy their mochi cupcakes.

    Like

    1. Nope all their baked goods are as delicious as ever 🙂

      Like

Interact with me