Lemon poppy seed loaf (vegan friendly)

Mother deer loves it when I put poppy seeds in my bakes. That’s why I’ve made quite a few things with the combination in the past…like my poppy seed bagels, vegan poppy seed loaf, and poppy seed pullapart bread.

lemon poppy seed loaf

And one of her favorite things to have is lemon poppy seed loaf! She adores it and always asks me how it is that store bought lemon loaf is so much more “lemon-y” than homemade ones.

I told her it was because they use lemon extract and probably a bit of yellow food colouring to up the “lemon-ness” of it.

I think I actually read somewhere once that seeing the colour of something can cause our brain to “enhance”  it’s flavor. Afterall, we eat with our eyes!

lemon poppy seed loaf

 

Anyways, enough chitchat, I’d love to talk to you lovelies some more but unfortunately this baker has a TON of readings to catch up on because she spends way too much time in the kitchen procrasti-baking 😉

 

lemon poppy seed loaf

Follow and interact with me on Instagram, Bloglovin’, Yummly, Twitter and Pintrest!

Ingredients (1 loaf)
2/3 cup soy milk
1 tablespoon flax meal
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar (or lemon juice)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup coconut oil melted (or vegetable oil)
3 tablespoons plain yogurt of choice (or more coconut oil)
1/2 cup maple syrup (or honey)
1 3/4 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1 1/2 tablespoon poppy seeds
Method

1. Whisk the soy milk, flax seed, vinegar, and vanilla together in a large bowl. Set aside for for 8 minutes for it to thicken

2. Mix in the coconut oil, yogurt, and maple syrup.

3. Sift in the the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir until just combined. Fold in the lemon zest and poppy seeds

4. Spoon the batter into a loaf pan.

5. Bake at 350F for 35 – 40 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle

lemon poppy seed loaf

 

One comment

  1. Had no idea this could be made vegan with success 🙂 Can’t wait to try it this weekend, maybe in a little muffin form. Thanks!

    Like

Interact with me